Crow Votes to Establish a Select Committee on January 6th

June 30, 2021
Press Release

WASHINGTON - Today, Rep. Jason Crow (D-CO) voted to establish a Select Committee to investigate the January 6th, 2021 attack on the U.S. Capitol. 

The legislation would establish a bipartisan Select Committee composed of 13 Members of Congress, five of whom would be appointed after consultation with Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy. This House-passed resolution does not require Senate approval or a Presidential signature in order to take effect. The Committee would be charged with investigating and reporting on the facts, circumstances, and causes relating to the January 6 domestic terrorist attack on the U.S. Capitol Complex – including the organization and execution of the attack, law enforcement and military preparation for and response to the attack, and other factors. 

“After one of the darkest days of our democracy, we cannot turn the page without truth and accountability,” said Rep. Jason Crow. “What happened on January 6th must never be allowed to happen again. The Select Committee will help us gather the facts, hold those responsible to account, and prevent future attacks. Without this, unity and healing is impossible.”

Crow previously voted to pass legislation that would form a bipartisan commission to investigate the January 6th attacks. That effort failed in the Senate, after it was blocked by Senate Republicans. 

In March, Crow introduced the Capitol Remembrance Act with Rep. Susan Wild (D-PA)  which would direct the Architect of the Capitol to install an educational exhibit as a memorial to the January 6, 2021 attacks on the U.S. Capitol. The legislation would ensure the January 6th attacks, which desecrated our seat of government and threatened the fabric of our democracy, are never lost to history.