Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

March 31, 2021

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden Jr. President of the United States The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Ave NW Washington, DC 20500

Dear President Biden,

The House Gun Violence Prevention Task Force calls on you to take strong executive action to address serious inequities in the implementation of the National Firearms Act which is the federal law regulating the manufacture, transfer, and possession of certain classes of firearms. For too long, gun manufacturers in order to circumvent the National Firearms Act have designed and marketed concealable AR-15 style firearms which fire rifle rounds.

Concealable assault-style firearms that fire rifle rounds pose an unreasonable threat to our communities and should be fully regulated under the National Firearms Act consistent with the intent and history of the law. The recent tragedy in Boulder, Colorado where 10 people including a police officer were killed is one in a string of deadly incidents involving this style of weapon. On February 6, 2019, Milwaukee Officer Matthew Rittner was killed by an AK-47 style concealable weapon while trying to execute a search warrant. Later that year on August 4, 2019, a concealable .223 caliber AR-15 style firearm was used to kill 9 people and injure 17 others in Dayton, Ohio in less than 1 minute.

The National Firearms Act has proven to be extremely effective in preventing crimes with the classes of particularly dangerous firearms it regulates through a system requiring a background check, submission of photo identification and fingerprints, and registration of the firearm with the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF). The 1934 law sought to regulate certain weapons because of their frequent use in crime. Some of the features exploited by criminals and included for enhanced regulation under the NFA include, sawed off shotguns, rifles with short barrels and weapons with a high capacity of firing like machine guns.

The concealability and ability to use ammunition capable of penetrating body armor make these firearms especially dangerous on our streets and for law enforcement personnel. We thank you for your commitment to preventing gun violence and urge you to immediately promulgate regulations to cover these concealable assault firearms under the National Firearms Act.

Sincerely,

mile Stompson

MIKE THOMPSON Chair

Val B. Deminigo

VAL B. DEMINGS Vice Chair

Joellegus

JOE NEGUSE Vice Chair

THEODORE E. DEUTCH Chief Whip

JAHANA HAYES Deputy Whip

MARC A. VEASEY Deputy Whip

ROBERT C. "BOBBY" SCOTT Vice Chair

ROBIN L. KELLY Vice Chair

MADELEINE DEAN Deputy Whip

DAVID. N. CICILLINE Vice Chair

ZOE LOFGREN Member

DEBBIE WASSERMAN SCHULTZ Member

TONY CÁRDENAS Member

DAVID. N. CICILLINE Member

BARBARA LEE Member

GWEN MOORE Member

JOHN GARAMENDI Member

ED PERLMUTTER Vice Chair

MATT CARTWRIGHT Vice Chair

JASON CROW Vice Chair

GRACE F. NAPOLITANO Vice Chair

JACKIE SPEIER Vice Chair

DAVID E. PRICE Vice Chair

KATHLEEN M. RICE Vice Chair

LUCY MCBATH Vice Chair

ELEANOR HOLMES NORTON Member

MADELEINE DEAN Member

FREDERICA S. WILSON Member

MIKE QUIGLEY Member

FRANK PALLONE, JR. Member

JAN SCHAKOWSKY Member

THOMAS R. SUOZZI Member RITCHIE TORRES Member

MIKE DOYLE Member

JIM COOPER Member

BONNIE WATSON COLEMAN Member

JAMES P. MCGOVERN Member

ERIC SWALWELL Member

PETER WELCH Member

DANIEL T. KILDEE Member

NYDIA M. VELÁZQUEZ Member

NANETTE DIAZ BARRAGÁN Member

DIANA DEGETTE Member

DONALD S. BEYER JR. Member

MARK DESAULNIER Member

SUZANNE BONAMICI Member

JIMMY PANETTA Member

LUCILLE ROYBAL-ALLARD Member

ALCEE L. HASTINGS Member

DWIGHT EVANS Member

JARED HUFFMAN Member

SARA JACOBS Member

BILL PASCRELL, JR. Member

SYLVIA R. GARCIA Member

DORIS MATSUI Member

NIKEMA WILLIAMS Member

JERROLD NADLER Member

JUDY CHU Member

HALEY STEVENS Member

JOE COURTNEY Member

DINA TITUS Member

SUZAN K. DELBENE Member

LISA BLUNT ROCHESTER Member

BILL FOSTER Member CAROLYN B. MALONEY Member

LORI TRAHAN Member

JAMES R. LANGEVIN Member

STEPHANIE MURPHY Member

PAUL D. TONKO Member

SEAN CASTEN Member

JUAN VARGAS Member

TOM MALINOWSKI Member

ANDY LEVIN Member

SALUD CARBAJAL Member

AYANNA PRESSLEY Member

A. DONALD MCEACHIN Member

ALAN LOWENTHAL Member

DEBBIE DINGELL Member

PRAMILA JAYAPAL Member

KATIE PORTER Member BRENDA L. LAWRENCE Member

LUCY MCBATH Member

DAVID SCOTT Member

ROSA L. DELAURO Member

ADRIANO ESPAILLAT Member

EARL BLUMENAUER Member

KATHY MANNING Member

BRADLEY S. SCHNEIDER Member

TED W. LIEU Member

LINDA T. SÁNCHEZ Member

ANNA G. ESHOO Member

ANTHONY G. BROWN Member

YVETTE D. CLARKE Member

STEVEN HORSFORD Member

DANNY K. DAVIS Member

AL GREEN Member DAVID TRONE Member

AMI BERA, M.D. Member

RAUL M. GRIJALVA Member

GRACE MENG Member

NORMA J. TORRES Member

ALMA S. ADAMS, PH.D. Member

CHARLIE CRIST Member ABIGAIL D. SPANBERGER Member

PETER A. DEFAZIO Member

BOBBY L. RUSH Member

RASHIDA TLAIB Member

JOHN YARMUTH Member

BRIAN HIGGINS Member