Veterans Reps. Jason Crow and Mike Gallagher Introduce Bipartisan Bill to Authorize Reserve Placement on the National Mall to Memorialize Serivcemembers of the Global War on Terrorism

November 12, 2019
Press Release

Representatives Jason Crow (D-CO-06) and Mike Gallagher (R-WI-08) introduced the Global War on Terrorism Memorial Location Act which would authorize the establishment of a memorial for service members of the Global War on Terrorism in the Reserve section of the National Mall. The proposed locations outlined in the bill include: Constitution Gardens, West Potomac Park and the JFK Hockey Fields.  Both Crow and Gallagher are veterans of the Global War on Terrorism (GWOT) serving in the Army and Marines, respectively. Text of the bill can be read here

A map of the proposed locations can be viewed below. 

The passage of the bill would allow for the creation of a memorial in the Reserve of the National Mall, the same area Congress set aside to honor the warriors of World War II, Korea and Vietnam. Following its passage, the Global War on Terrorism Memorial Foundation, the 501(c)(3) designated by Congress to build the memorial, would then work with the federal and local multi-agency council on design and construction with the goal of dedication in 2024.  

“The Global War on Terrorism changed the course of American history and the lives of the millions of servicemembers, first responders, and civil servants who stepped up to serve our country.  The sacrifices of this generation are all too often forgotten amidst the political debates of our time.” said Congressman Crow. “It is our hope that by honoring the service and sacrifices of this generation in our nation’s capital, we give our service men and women the honor they are due.”

“I served alongside many brave men and women in the Marine Corps, some of whom made the ultimate sacrifice in defense of our nation,” said Congressman Gallagher. “Honoring their service, as well as the sacrifices of all those who have served in the Global War on Terrorism, is overdue. The National Mall is a fitting place to memorialize these heroes, and I’m proud to introduce this bipartisan legislation with Rep. Crow to ensure the legacies of these great Americans will be remembered for generations to come.” 

Crow, a freshman member of Congress, served with the 82nd Airborne Division in Iraq where he received a Bronze Star for his leadership during the Battle of As Samawah and later two combat tours in Afghanistan with the 75th Ranger Regiment where he was tasked with fighting  the Haqqani Network, an insurgent group on the Afghanistan - Pakistan border.  

Gallagher, a sophomore member of Congress, served in the United States Marine Corps for seven years as a Counterintelligence/Human Intelligence Officer and Regional Affairs Officer for the Middle East/North Africa, where he earned the rank of Captain. He deployed twice to Al Anbar Province, Iraq as a commander of intelligence teams, and served on General Petraeus’s Central Command Assessment Team in the Middle East.

The For Country Caucus, a bipartisan caucus of veterans of which Crow and Gallagher are a part of, also unanimously endorsed the bill, "As a veteran of the Global War on Terrorism, I am honored to commemorate my brothers and sisters in arms who have served in this conflict. This bipartisan legislation demonstrates our nation’s veneration for those who defend our democracy, and the sacrifice endured by their loved ones," said Congressman Panetta, Founder and chair of the For Country Caucus and veteran of the U.S. Navy.

The full list of cosponsors includes: Reps: Don Bacon (R-NE-02), Jim Baird (R-IN-04), Anthony Brown (D-MD-04), Gil Cisneros (D-CA-39), Dan Crenshaw (R-TX-02), Peter DeFazio (D-OR-4), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA-01), Ruben Gallego (D-AZ-07), Jared Golden (D-ME-02), Chrissy Houlahan (D-PA-06), Adam Kinzinger (R-IL-16), Conor Lamb (D-PA-17), Barry Loudermilk (R-GA-11), Elaine Luria (D-VA-02), Brian Mast (R-FL-18), Seth Moulton (D-MA-06), Jim Panetta (D-CA-20), Guy Reschenthaler (R-PA-14), Denver Riggleman (R-VA-5), Max Rose (D-NY-11), Rep. Elissa Slotkin (D-MI 8), Greg Steube (R-FL-17), Van Taylor (R-TX-03), and Michael Waltz (R-FL-06), and Don Young (R-AK At-large District).